I Have a Reason To Worship

Hi all, I was just listening to Tear Down the Walls this week. In the CD, there’s also a re-recording of the Desert Song (nono not dessert song).

I think it’s a great song, very well arranged especially in This Is Our God. However, I haven’t yet chosen to sing this song when I lead, because of the bridge:

All of my life, in every season
You are still God
I have a reason to sing
I have a reason to worship

It’s the last line that puzzles me – “I have a reason to worship”. It seems a bit of a strange thing to have to say, because we only worship when there is something worthy of our adoration.

One can worship if and only if there is a reason to worship in the first place! So it doesn’t make sense to me to say that we have a reason to worship.

The only way I can think of it is that there is a case where we worship without needing a reason?  Kinda like paying lip service, or (gasp!) singing songs in church without meaning it? But then it wouldn’t be worship.

What do you think? Do we need a reason to worship?

~ by jonhyz on September 11, 2009.

15 Responses to “I Have a Reason To Worship”

  1. I forgot her name but the in TIOGod DVD extras she said that the song was about being in the spiritual desert, and that she was reminded that God is still there no matter what – hence “All of my life, in every season”.
    Hmm, IMHO I think that “I have a reason to worship” stands for the reminder that since God is “still God” (line 2) no matter what, so God, is a reason to worship in itself, simply because He Is.
    Confusing… Haha.

  2. mmm perhaps we could view it from the point where we know we should worship God but because of life’s “desert moments” we don’t view God as who He really is. so we have the knowledge that we should worship but we don’t have the conviction or reason to do so. thus the revelation that God is still God no matter how dismal life may seem is probably the driving factor behind how we can still have a reason to worship Him despite circumstances.

  3. This is my cold bowl of chendol, with durian and a cup of teh si…
    -Dessert Song

  4. i guess what throws me off is the line before – i have a reason to sing. that makes sense to me. but if you follow the same line of thinking for the final phrase, i still don’t see how you can “worship” without a reason.

    i think its the phrasing more than anything (i agree with both Paul and Ian)

    i suppose saying “i have a reason to worship YOU” or “i have a reason to worship GOD” would make sense…

    but in its current form, the subject is “worship”, not “God”, which really throws me off…. =|

  5. Of course it makes sense (‘..reason to worship YOU’) – that’s exactly what the writer is saying: You are still God in EVERY season. Therefore, regardless of whether I feel like it I will sing Your praises, I will worship (You).

    As Job declared, “Though He slay me, yet will I hope in Him” (Job 13:15). In other words, my reason for praising and worshipping God is God alone. Not even what He’s done is sufficient at times, especially when He remains silent. Had Job relied on God’s blessing and tangible mercies to worship God, he might have rather taken his wife’s advice to “Curse God and die” (Job 2:9). Instead, Job understood that simply because God is God is reason enough to sing His praises, reason to worship.

  6. hahaha actually it’s interesting how you see it! in fact, i never thought of ‘worship’ as being the subject in the sentence! Rather, it just came intuitively that “God is the subject!

    Like the line before.. I have a reason to sing “of/to You”, where again, God is the subject!

    mag

  7. Oh oh I get more of what you mean now. Maybe what “I have a reason to worship” is aiming at is that God is the only reason to worship, so on matter what circumstance one is in, God is there – so that’s one (and the only) reason to worship.

  8. hi i am joy mae! I am from Philippines!~ I always play the song desert song! anyways that’s a very good song I am blessed by the hillsong songs! I just read” I have a reason to worship.” me too… one of its reason is I love the Lord and i will worship Him until my last breath../ I will glorify Him…. God bless you all!…..

  9. I think you’re right in a way, we already have a reason to worship, but may be the writer’s reason to worship is more an inspiration instead. We use words interchangably many times, thus the confusion. But I think we have enough reason to worship the Lord…still, if you like the song, the message is pretty foundational.

  10. hi! your name is jonny? oh! i am so glad about this web it is because it helps me to share about How great God is,… how awesome He is.. Praise God that all of you are blessed… i am so happy to knew about “i have a reason to worship” on this web, all christian has it’s own reason to worship. and Praise God!…may i know what’s the name of your church!? I came from a foursquare Gospel church!. hope that i could share a lot of my friends about the truth and tell them about worshiping God, and my reasons why i will worship God.. God bless you!…. I peter 5:8-10…….

  11. we have every reason to worship.

  12. Jon, although this post was done on the Sept11, but you know what? I actually wrote that bridge on my personal whiteboard at my desk last week, to really remind me of the greatness of God. Everytime I look at the bridge, I’m just in awe that I know this wonderful, wonderful God. To me, this bridge has a lot of meanings. personally, “ALL OF MY LIFE”, be it bad times or good times, there is a reason to worship and to sing. I connect with God whatever my circumstances. And ultimately, the impt line is YOU ARE STILL GOD. no matter what, God is GOD. Almighty.
    It’s a very uplifting bridge so to speak. I’m enjoying the DVD for “This is Our God.” I don’t know what prompted me to get it! hehe 🙂 Let me know if you wanna borrow it!!

    • hey sharon,

      yup i agree that that God is always God! in fact, BECAUSE He is always God, we probably don’t *need* to have a ‘reason’ to worship at all!

      Worship flows spontaneously because it is our automatic response to a God that is SOOO great!

  13. hey jon, this is a bit late, i just read your blog. I din scroll through the other entries. I read the phrase simply as such.

    I have a reason and every reason to worship and that reason is you, God.

  14. The reason to worship? Your God is a living God who has sent his Son to die on cross so that we can be reconciled to him. Once you trust in God, even if you can’t see the outcome, God can, and he will use you to further his kingdom, and bring his lost children home.

    This song (to me) is written to remind you that no trial and tribulations happen, even when you can’t see a way out, or it feels like Gods is 1000x miles away, because of what he has done, you have a reason to worship.

    Its easy to worship and sign praise when life is all good and great. This is when you can easily say that God is Great and Might. However when the tribulations and trials come, depending on your relationship with God, you may lose sight of it. People tend to look at their current situation, and say “How can God would allow this to happen to me?”

    From my experience, its easy to lose sight of God. When the storms comes, its easy to lose sight of all God has done for you and just see your situation. Even when the world looks like it will burn down around you, your back is to the wall or your getting dragged over a bed of coals, your still in God’s hand, and God has plans for you beyond anything you can imagine. This is the reason to Worship.

    Trials draw you closer to God, they strengthen you, they humble you , and most importantly trails give you the strength to Help others. If you went through a tragedy but in the end God used it to bring one of his children home, would you think the tragedy is worth it?

    For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. – Jeremiah 29:11

    Romans 5:3-5 And not only that, but we also glory in tribulations knowing that tribulations produces perseverance, and perseverance character and character, hope. Now Hope does not disappoint because the love of God has been poured out in our heart by the Holy Spirit who was given to us.

    James 1:2-3 – My brethren, count it all joy when you fall into various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces patience, but let patience have its perfect work, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing.

    1 Peter 1: 6-7 – In this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials. These have come so that your faith—of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire—may be proved genuine and may result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed.

    So rejoice when your Dry in the Desert, rejoice when your going through the Fire, rejoice when your struggling, and rejoice when you have victory. But remember your joy is a river, and use your trials to help others. Your God is a living God, and that is the Reason to worship.

Leave a Reply

 
